MTI Mittelrhein

The MTI Mittelrhein as an interdisciplinary research institute for medical engineering and information processing combines specific competencies in medicine, technology, and computer sciences of several institutions within the region of Koblenz. The main purpose is to take advantage of the synergy effects of scientific research and medical applications.

University of Koblenz-Landau and University of Applied Sciences Koblenz collaborate with medical facilities and hospitals on different projects. Research projects are carried out by different teams in close cooperation between these institutions.

The universities' contributions on medical engineering and information processing in collaboration with the medical institutions result in technological developements and lead to improvements of diagnostic methods in medicine (e.g. procedural imaging) on one hand. On the other hand, the usage of medical devices and methods (e.g. represantation of brain functions) may lead to new insights in various fields of science.

The aim of the institute is a meaningful scientific gearing of leading companies working in these fields and scientific institutions to improve methods of medical diagnostics and treatment. Therefore, interdisciplinary communication with has a high priority for effective and contemporary implementation of research results for medical application.

News

Kolloquium 22.11.2016

On the 22.11.2016 PD Dr. med. Thomas Nüßlein talked about bacteria in lungs.
more information

Newspaper Article about Prof. Dr. Karin Gruber

In October 2016 the newspaper "Rhein-Zeitung" published an article about Prof. Dr. Gruber and her work managing the MTI.
more information

Kolloquium 6.12.2016

On the 6.12.2016 Dr. med. Dirk Holsten presented modern procedures of cartilage therapy.
more information
More events

MTI Mittelrhein

Das Institut MTI Mittelrhein dient als interdisziplinäre Forschungseinrichtung, in der spezialisierte Kompetenzen der Region Koblenz in den Bereichen Medizin, Technik und Informationsverarbeitung interdisziplinär verknüpft werden, um Synergieeffekte für wissenschaftliche Forschung und medizinische Anwendung nutzbar zu machen.

Es handelt sich um ein Kooperationsinstitut von Universität und Hochschule, in dem in einem Forschungsverbund mit den Medizinischen Kliniken in Koblenz in verschiedenen Partnerkonfigurationen Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt werden.

Der Beitrag der Hochschulen auf den Gebieten der Technik und Informationsverarbeitung soll in enger Kooperation mit den Kliniken auf der einen Seite zu technischen Neuentwicklungen und zur Verbesserung von Untersuchungsverfahren in der Medizin (z.B. bildgebende Verfahren) führen, auf der anderen Seite kann die Nutzung der medizinischen Geräte und Methoden (z.B. Darstellung von Gehirnfunktionen) zu neuen Erkenntnissen in den verschiedensten Wissenschaftszweigen führen.

Ziel ist eine sinnvolle wissenschaftliche Verzahnung zur Verbesserung von Methoden für Diagnostik und für medizinische Behandlung auch unter Einbeziehung von Wirtschaftsbetrieben aus Handwerk und Industrie. Angestrebt wird ein enger interdisziplinärer Dialog, um bei den gemeinsamen Projekten in iterativen Verfahren eine möglichst effektive und zeitnahe Umsetzung wissenschaftlicher Forschungsergebnisse in die medizinische Anwendung zu erreichen.

Aktuelles

Kolloquium 6.12.2016

Im Kolloquium am 06.12.2016 stellte Dr. med. Dirk Holsten moderne Verfahren der Knorpeltherapie vor.
weitere Informationen

Kolloquium 22.11.2016

Am 22.11.2016 ging es im MTI Kolloquium um Bakterien in der Lunge, vorgestellt von PD Dr. med. Thomas Nüßlein.
weitere Informationen

Artikel der Rhein-Zeitung über das MTI

Im Oktober 2016 veröffentlichte die Wirtschaftszeitung der Rhein-Zeitung einen Artikel über die Leitung des MTI Mittelrhein.
weitere Informationen
Weitere Termine