Institute for Integrated Natural Sciences

The institute for integrated natural sciences (IfIN) was established in 2003 and combines four departments (biology, chemistry, geography, physics).

The four formerly independent scientific institutes were joined to improve cooperation in teaching and research between them as well as better to be able to focus on common interests.

As a result of our successful collaboration, two interdisciplinary study programs, "Angewandte Naturwissenschaften" (applied sciences) and "BioGeoWissenschaften" (BioGeo sciences) as well as a series of integrative research projects have emerged, which are supported by several groups from various departments.